Belorukov, Ilia & Andrey Popovskiy / Objectus Binomis
Album: Objectus Binomis   Collection:General
Artist:Belorukov, Ilia & Andrey Popovskiy   Added:Mar 2014
Label:Test Tube  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-04-04 Pull Date: 2014-06-06 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: May 18 May 11 Apr 27 Apr 20 Apr 13
Airplays: 1 4 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 14, 2014: minimum entropy
4. May 08, 2014: Fried Ehgg
2. May 08, 2014: Aporeia
5. May 07, 2014: minimum entropy
3. May 08, 2014: The Sunset Life
6. Apr 24, 2014: The Sunset Life

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2014-03-30
This 270th release from the incredible netlabel Test Tube (everything they release is free—check them out) is a gorgeous and dynamic collaboration between two experimental musicians out of Saint Petersburg. Here, Belorukov plays alto saxophone and Popovskiy plays electric guitar, with both musicians running their instruments through an array of effects. The result lies somewhere between jazz and ambient music, a deeply underappreciated stylistic continuum that results in some astonishing and formidable soundscapes. Play any. No words, no FCCs.

1. (11:05)—Intense, shining drones. Bright guitar plucking. Approaching abstract Talk Talk in places. Soft feedback and machine sounds.
2. (9:49)—Soft clicks, water bubbles popping, chimes, wavering saxophone. Dreamy, dissonant, unsettling.
3. (8:53)—Static, detuned strings plucked in a large room. Majestic noir saxophone styling. Gets a bit noisy near the end.
4. (13:24)—Soft drones. Opens up slowly and reaches breathtaking levels of serenity. Gets crushingly loud in the final third. This really is a late-period Talk Talk fan’s dream.

Track Listing
1. Flavus   3. Responsum
2. Silvaticus   4. Additionalis