Potty Mouth / Hell Bent
Album: Hell Bent   Collection:General
Artist:Potty Mouth   Added:Apr 2014
Label:Old Flame Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-04-25 Pull Date: 2014-06-27
Week Ending: Jun 15 Jun 8 Jun 1 May 25 May 18 May 11 May 4 Apr 27
Airplays: 2 1 4 2 4 3 4 2

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 10, 2023: Eclectic Circus
Sleep Talk
4. Jun 12, 2014: The Final Aporeia
2. Jun 18, 2014: Meow After Midnight
The Better End
5. Jun 02, 2014: Box of Chocolates
3. Jun 14, 2014: Meow
6. May 29, 2014: The Peninsula Report

Album Review
Reviewed 2014-04-24
Now THIS is the pop-punk you’ve always dreamed of! Nerdy, sugary yet angsty, call it sweet&sour pop? The vocalist sounds like the biggest dork, with a very understated, even timid delivery that somehow works. (Pitchfork compares her to Liz Phair, but I’ll leave that up to Mr Esq to corroborate.) It’s an all-girl band, but you’d never know, as they reject the Riot Grrrl label: “GENDER DOES NOT EQUAL GENRE,” says their bassist.
RIYL Max Levine Ensemble, Jawbreaker, Tacocat, anything on Plan-It-X records

1. midpaced cheery tune full of adolescent punk rage
2. **more edgy hard-rock-punk riffage thrown in, think Girlschool or Heavy Cream
3. plaintive, lonely, for staring at your feet in the rain
4. catchy, happy major-key melodies sad themes… starting to see a pattern?
5. loud cymbals, somber harmonizing riffs, dark lyrics about date rape
6. frantic energy, minor-key fuzz a la Dino Jr
7. happy, pumped-up powerpop with particularly nerdy vocals
8.** fast jangly pop anthem, guitar doubles melody line
9. *obvious FCC “shithead”—a happy-go-lucky tune about that special someone who actually sucks
10. slow somber dirgey closer

Track Listing
1. The Gap   6. Damage
2. Rusted Shut   7. Wishlist
3. Black And Studs   8. Bullseye
4. Sleep Talk   9. Shithead
5. The Spins   10. The Better End