Krokofant / Krokofant
Album: Krokofant   Collection:General
Artist:Krokofant   Added:Apr 2014
Label:Rune Grammofon  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-05-02 Pull Date: 2014-07-04
Week Ending: Jun 8 Jun 1 May 25 May 18 May 11
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 05, 2014: Aporeia with Whiteowl
4. May 16, 2014: A Visit From Drum
2. May 31, 2014: Music Casserole
5. May 08, 2014: The Sunset Life
3. May 24, 2014: Music Casserole
6. May 08, 2014: The Peninsula Report

Album Review
Reviewed 2014-04-29
Dark and energetic jazz-rock fusion from Norway by a drums-guitar-sax trio. There must be something in the herring up there, as everything from the Norwegian jazz scene via Rune Grammofon is top-notch. See also: Bushman’s Revenge, Fire! & Oren Ambarchi. Skittering, angular rhythms lumber about under skronky sax and squiggly guitar melodies. Incredibly tight musicianship, sounds like Peter Brotzmann fronting The Fucking Champs. If that means nothing to you, go delve into our library. Your ears need shattering.
Instrumental—FCC clean. Play any track, they’re all kickass!

1. (6:30) rolling rhythms get destructive with cymbals and guitar ostinato, sax screeches to high heaven
2. (6:30) very dense patterned theme loops itself into knots, melodic snakes and ladders with heavy polyrhythms
3. (8:36) uptempy cool spy movie kind of swagger, sax shrieks and guitar cools it down over some jittery rhythms
4. (5:06) gradual doomy dirge, crawls along in agony
5. (2:42) short speedy number, guitar shreds into warp speed
6. (12:44) starts off almost loungey, drifts off into ambient outer-space before soaring off into lyrical heights with steady drums; still surprisingly low-energy compared to the rest of the album

Track Listing
1. Polyfant   4. Thispair
2. Supermann   5. Ejs
3. Bodega   6. Castaway